bobheads - Bergschrund

edited May 2022 in Creations

HI all, I haven't posted for a while but I do continue to make lots of stuff in the awesomeness that is NS2! Hope everyone is doing well.

I'd be interested in anyone's feedback for this track I made last year, which uses mostly NS2 sounds with a MIDI controller keyboard, but also involves using a Roland E-drumkit as a MIDI input for some of the later layers of drum tracks. I'm not a pro drummer but I like hitting things with sticks - B) - and I find it produces a completely different vibe than programming drums via the screen, and I like that I can quantise the timing whilst keeping the enormous variety of velocity data that comes from the e-drumkit and makes the drum samples sound more human.

Cheers, happy this forum is still going strong!

Bergschrund
https://open.spotify.com/album/1HsDL5bJg8zYJGyHdvEOwp

Comments

• @bobheads i couldn’t listen to it all as I don't have Spotify and it only let me play 20s or so :( I tried to look for it on Apple Music but it’s not there:(
    But in those 20 seconds I definitely liked that acoustic drums, really nice and dynamic
    Is this coming to Apple Music?

• @bobheads I have found it on there:D
    It’s nice, I really like those drums. I suppose that’s that layer you did with Roland kit and it does sound more dynamic especially toms or are those programmed in sequencer?
    Anyway it’s nice chilled tune;)

• edited June 2022

@Cray23 cheers! The 'real-played' drums don't arrive until about 1:23 but I can't remember if the preview on Spotify includes a clip from the middle of the tune, I think it does, so yeah, maybe.

For sure the toms are me having some fun with the e-kit :)