How to properly load 808 samples into Obsidian?

Hello everyone,

I’m new to nanostudio 2 and I absolutely love it. I want to start making hip-hop/trap beats and was wondering what the proper way to load my own 808 samples into Obsidian was? I already understand the actual process of loading a single 808 sample into its proper root note. Where I get lost is afterwards. I’m not sure what I should be doing with the FILTER/ENV/OSC panels themselves in order to keep the integrity of the sample. I’m also not sure whether I should set polyphony to 1-glide or 1-mono. Ideally, I would like to use my 808 samples as a bass/sub in order to get a more authentic sound, but don’t quite understand how to properly use Obsidian’s edit page without messing with the “sound” of the sample itself. Furthermore, I was wondering if anyone had any ideas on what I should be mapping on the perform page macros.

So what do you guys think is the best way to load 808 samples in Obsidian for hip-hop/trap? Also, would I use the same settings for my hi-hats as well? I’m new to hip-hop/trap production so any tips would greatly be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Comments

• i think @iPadBeatMaking had some youtube videos about trap making in NS2, probably he is most capable to answer your question regarding workflows needed for this particular music style ..

• @dendy said:
    i think @iPadBeatMaking had some youtube videos about trap making in NS2, probably he is most capable to answer your question regarding workflows needed for this particular music style ..

I’ll look into the videos. Thanks for the advice.

• edited June 2019

Hey @dendy thanks for the mention! I just responded to @itsinthemusiq on YouTube but wanted to post here also in case anyone else has the same question or its seen here instead of there first: